I&P Exercise 3.1 Mind maps, colour palettes and theme boards

In your sketchbook, create a mind map that identifies, & then explores in more detail, different aspects of your chosen theme. Begin by writing your theme in the centre of the page and the develop a web of connections that follow your thoughts. Work quickly and spontaneously so that the connections you make are not too literal.

Tuesday 19th May 2020

A mind map

I want to capture place through memory including how I feel at the moment. I have gone to my favourite holiday destination of St Ives in Cornwall to capture the bright colours and sensory delights of that place. I am also including the fear and desperation myself and pretty much everyone else feels at this time. 


Colour trends for 2020 /Sherwin Williams forecast

Produce at least 5 different colour palettes in your sketchbook before selecting the colour palette that you think best represents your theme. These will be the colours you’ll work with in the following exercises. 


The Harbour, St Ives, Cornwall – postcard.  Colour photo by John Hinde, F.R.P.S

Elaine Pamphilon St Ives artist  cropped postcard of ‘fishing paraphernalia’

Front doors of holiday homes in St Ives fisherman’s quarter – my image

Overlooking Porthmeor Beach with the Tate to the right St Ives – my image

‘Tex’ Mexican restaurant in St Ives  photo by Tim Wolverson on Flickr 

looking at the five computer generated colour palettes above I have selected the two that will best suit my theme: see below


Colour palette one
Dark chocolate. Milk chocolate. Pale blue. Olive. Beige. Sand

theme board one

wallpaper, magazine image of Marilyn Monroe, Cy Twombly inspired mark making, woodcut of the plague Doctor by Lucy Deane, magazine model shoot, yellow gauze plastic netting, blue rickrack wallpaper, black & gold fabric, colour chips  


Colour palette two
Soft teal. Sky blue. Sage. Black. Periwinkle. Pale sage


theme board two

paper bag, colour chips, magazine image of knitting & wall, Cy Twombly inspired mark making, pirate scull and crossbones flag by C.W Holeman III – see Pinterest, brown ribbon, creased fabric, lace, map wallpaper, Rachel Nicholson painting, Stanhope Forbes painting of St Ives

The aim of my themes boards is to express feelings caused by the restriction of movement and physical isolation from my grown up children caused by the current Coronavirus pandemic and counterbalancing this with treasured memories of holidays spent with them in St Ives.

On both boards I have included examples of imagery, mark making, symbols and textured materials which will guide me towards a considered set of samples. The colours express links to nautical themes and freedom as apposed to the colour black which seems to stand alone amongst these liberating colours. The challenge for me is how to express the feelings invoked by the beaches, cottages & rugged landscape through texture and colour mixed with current negative emotions.

My plan is to be lead by some of the artists that I have researched so far in this assignment. However I also want to look at & maybe reference some well known St Ives artists noted on my theme board and perhaps incorporate how they responded to St Ives whilst living there. I also intend to introduce words at a later stage in the sampling.

accessed 20.05.2020 https://plaguedoctors.tumblr.com/post/424752851/the-plague-doctor-lucy-deane

Additional work in response to my Feedback tutorial at the end of this assignment.

12th August 2020

My tutor suggested that I should ‘add highlight colours which are not necessarily from photo references. Make a duplicate palette for each location which focusses on your feelings (an abstract interpretation of place) & explore mixing the two palettes’.


Colour palette 1

Colour palette 2

By thinking about aspects of my theme through memory and emotion, and interpreting thoughts into abstract colour, I understand that I was limiting my palette by relying on the photograph analyses. These new colours provide me with a new palette which gives me the tools to build on my sampling in a free, more abstract, more personal way. This exercise has generated a developed (a better range of colours) and balanced colour palette with stronger connection to my emotions and my theme.

4 thoughts on “I&P Exercise 3.1 Mind maps, colour palettes and theme boards

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.